THE CHOICE

 I don’t usually read books but I am a huge fan of Nicholas Sparks inspired movies! I’d say that I’ve already watched ALL of his romantic novels that turned into a motion picture. From Message in a Bottle to The Choice— they’re all my favorite. Name it and I’ve already watched it! *wink* (unfortunately, I haven’t read any of his books. I hope soon, though.)  I love how all of his stories are tragically beautiful. It has its way of letting you feel a full range of emotions. A little bit of everything. At most times, a cozy vibe at first. Though his stories are known to include tragic elements at most times, it’s all worth it. I love the countryside vibe. Away from the city. Everything is placid and serene; peace and quiet. There is something about his stories that I truly love. Every movie is worth a cry.

His newest novel– The Choice recently went up the big screen!
The Choice is about two people who first met as neighbors in a small coastal town and wind up in a relationship that is tested by life’s most defining events. 

MV5BMTYzMDA2ODcxMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODMzOTMzNzE@._V1__SX1857_SY919_

Before I even blurt out all my feels about the movie, I was wondering why this one was less hyped apart from all the Nicholas Sparks inspired movies. I wasn’t even aware that it was already shown here last February until lately. Out of curiosity, I did a small research before I wrote this one. I just went through some articles and stumbled upon some reviews about it. It was surprisingly awful– the reviews. (but there were a few good reviews, though.) None of what I ever expected. They were saying things like the story was fairly predictable, the movie is a cliche-infused disaster, a ‘must miss’, easily forgettable and the worst review that I’ve read so far has this to say: “If you have ‘The Choice’ to skip this movie, take it.” Like how mean is that?!?!? I know that we are all entitled to our own opinions but for someone who found the movie amusing, I think it’s mean. I don’t even know where all of these comments and reviews were coming from. I’m not sure if the book was better than the movie (because at most times, that’s the case) because I haven’t read the book. Or perhaps it’s just a matter of perspective? It really depends on the person watching, of course I understand that. But as for me, the movie was amusing and I really find it lovely. Yeah, it was a bit cliche but… I don’t know. I was feeling too many things while watching that I didn’t notice. I enjoyed every bit of it. And it’s still a Nicholas Sparks novel for crying out loud.

Going back, sometime 2 weeks ago, I finally got the chance to watch this. What can I say? I bawled my eyes out again. Nicholas Sparks is the best.  For me, this is by far, his cutest ever! It would have to be on the second spot of my most favorite from Nicholas Sparks! (Sorry, The Choice. A Walk To Remember is still at the top of the list!) But next to Luke Collins (from the Longest Ride), Travis Shaw is my new found favorite country boy! ❤ AAAAAGHHHHH! His sexy voice, though. *faints* and his unconditional love for dogs (I’m not into  dogs but damn, he’s too cute) and rock n’roll . Aside from Travis, most of the characters are actually likable as well. Like Travis’ sister who is always out there teasing him to Gabby and probably the first person who knew, from the beginning that her brother and Gabby would eventually be a thing. Monica, Travis’ old flame who gave him the BEST. ADVICE. EVER. Her character is surprisingly well– and not annoying. At all. And of course, Gabby. Travis’ love interest who by the way is a med student. I just love her deadpan sarcasm that annoys the sh*t out of Travis every single time. Haha! And her beach bod, though. I think I’m gay??? Kidding. As for the movie itself, I admire how it showed the power of love– how love can change everything. The humor, of course. There were a lot of ‘comedy’ compared to all the other ones, which is surprising and quite unusual– for Nicholas Sparks inspired movies were known to carry out this serious-y and kind of a heavy drama type of thing. Let’s not forget the The beloved North Carolina setting. (If you’re an avid fan of Nicholas Sparks as, you have probably noticed that he always had a thing with North Carolina). Sparks fly in the ravishingly styled North Carolina sun! (I just love sunsets, pretty skies and gradient skylines). Know what else I love?  The Beach. Boating. Picnic. Grilled Steak. Porch Swings. The stars and the moon. The night skies that glow. Aside from the fantasy of romance, it’s the simple things that made me fall in love with the movie. The heartfelt moments. It shows how beautiful life is. That despite some adversity, love is still greater than all that. 🙂 To sum up, IT IS A MUST WATCH. Especially for everyone who loves romantic movies as much as I do! If you have The Choice to catch this movie, please do so. You won’t regret it. Let me end this post by sharing my favorite lines from the movie 🙂

Now pay attention, ’cause I’m about to tell you the secret to life. The whole damn thing is about decisions… little, seemingly, insignificant decisions that clear the road for monster truck life-altering ones. You see, every path you take leads to another choice, and some choices can change everything. Every damn moment of your life hangs on them.” – Travis Shaw

True enough. These lines from Travis Shaw is what struck me. To think of it, it’s actually real life. I believe that life is just a series of the decisions we make– and we must live with the result of it. It’s the choices we make that leads us to right where we should be. We must consider that most of the choices we make could change our lives forever. A lot of us  (including me), are afraid about the whole decision making thing. I mean who wouldn’t be? With the uncertainty, most of us hesitate to even make a choice. I might not be as fearless as anybody else out there but hear me on this, Go. Make decisions. Disregard the doubt, even though at most times it’s hard. If it feels right, do it. If it doesn’t, then don’t. Don’t be afraid to try. As the saying goes, if you never try, you’ll never know. The mistakes from the decisions we make will be there along the way– but it’s always better than regret. The choice is always yours.

P.S. It’s ironic how these words (I sound like some hopeless romantic gal on some parts) came out of me considering that I haven’t been in love– and I don’t believe (much) in love, YET. I mean, yeah someday I want some guy to come in and sweep me off my feet, that would be great– but in reality, the relationships that I see nowadays aren’t enough to make me believe that love never fails or at least love can get through it all. I guess I’m in love with thoughts & ideas and not with reality. Maybe all I need is to go out there and see for myself.

 P.S.S. I’m not really sure if this is a Movie review or what. I’ll let you decide. *wink*

Leave a Reply

